Shoalhaven trio in Australian motocross squad for junior world titles

Dante Hyam. Photo: Ian Duncan
Dante Hyam. Photo: Ian Duncan

MOTORCYCLING Australia (MA) has just announced the Australian squad to be eligible for the FIM World Junior Motocross (WJMX), which features three Shoalhaven products.

This will be the first time the WJMX will be coming to this country and an Australian squad containing Falls Creek’s Koby Hantis (65cc), Worrigee’s Mason Hills (85cc) and Nowra’s Dante Hyam (125cc), is primed to take on the world.

Taking place at the renowned Horsham Motorcycle Club (VIC), the event is set to be an international spectacular on August 26, 2018. 

The Australian squad will consist of 46 riders, which will represent the best young talent the nation has to offer.

Also joining the team will be young gun, Charli Cannon who has been selected as the best female junior in the country. 

The squad of 46 riders will be trimmed to seven per class, with the possibility of Australian wildcards being able to join the fold. 

Australia will represent the most riders in the field, due to being the host nation.

Australian riders have enjoyed a significant amount of success in the past.

Notable standouts include Jett Lawrence taking out the 65cc class in 2014 and Jay Wilson in the 85cc – 150cc class in 2009.

Being able to host the WJMX is an amazing privilege and is without a shadow of a doubt the world’s most prestigious junior motocross event.

It’s going to be an incredible sight to witness, delivering a show for spectators and competitors alike.

Mark Willingham will return as team manager for 2018 and is pleased with the Australian squad selection.

“This year being a local championship, we are able to select a lot more riders for the squad,” Willingham said.

“It’s going to be interesting to see how the dynamic works with a large group of riders.

“The host nation is allowed seven riders per class and there may be opportunities to include wildcards after entries close, should there be enough spaces.

“We will have a training camp, so they have an opportunity to be trained and coached on the Horsham track from July 14-15.

“We will then have to select the Australian team soon after.

“This will be my fifth year as team manager and I couldn’t pass up the opportunity to get involved, as it is a local event in Australia.”    

Australian junior motocross squad

65cc: Angus Pearce, Braden Plath, Deacon Paice, Jack Deveson, Jake Cannon, Jet Alsop, Kayden Minear, Kayd Kingsford, Koby Hantis, Ky Woods, Liam Owens, Seth Burchell, Seth Shackleton, Thomas Wood and Ty Sharp.

85cc: Brad West, Cambell Williams, Charli Cannon, Connor Towill, Deegan Mancinelli, Jack Mather, Jackson Camilleri, Jesse Holding, Jasper Moon, Jett Burgess-Stevens, Jett Kipps, Mason Hills, Ryan Alexanderson, Ryder Kingsford, Ty Kean and Zac Watson.

125cc: Alex Larwood, Bailey Malkiewicz, Blake Fox, Caleb Clifton, Dante Hyam, Jack Kukas, John Bova, Korey McMahon, Liam Andrews, Mason Semmens, Mathew Fabry, Noah Ferguson, Regan Duffy, Ty Jones and Tyler Darby.