Nowra Velo Club: Brooklyn Henry takes C grade win

SPEED TO BURN: Gavin Nethery leads B grade through a corner during the Nowra Velo Club’s criterium program on Sunday.
SPEED TO BURN: Gavin Nethery leads B grade through a corner during the Nowra Velo Club’s criterium program on Sunday.

THE Nowra Velo Club’s criterium program on Sunday, November 12, provided Levi Johns with his fourth straight win while Brooklyn Henry took his first NVC bike race win.

On the same program Gavin Nethery took his second win for the year in B grade and Jo Chalain won his third race for 2017 in the D grade event.

The B grade race provided action on the day with a fast race and a hectic finish.

Michael Berriman was the first rider into the finish straight on the final lap and was out of the saddle and charging for the line when Nethery matched the move and charged past.

Steve Gendek was with Nethery and the decision on the line went to Nethery by half a wheel. Mark Williams raced into third position ahead of Phil Rice.

Berriman hung onto fifth position ahead of Aaron Coghlan, Colin Hunt, Brad Oaten and Ian Kielly.

Berriman had spent precious energy when he raced from the back of the field to the lead position along the back straight on the final lap.

As the youngest rider on the program in his third bike race, Brooklyn Henry positioned well in C grade and only chased gaps when necessary but was in the right place in the final three laps as the Mick Thompson and Scott Martin break was reeled in.

Henry sprinted straight and true to the line to take the win by over a length from another newcomer, Jason Spence.

Martin was strong enough and in the right position around the final corner and hung on for third ahead of Dave Gray, Thompson, Frank Neri, Isaac Mitchell, Peter Van Der Zanden, Mark Klein, Gary Bryce, Rob Pickard, Damian Mason and Adrian McMillan.

Amy Mottram and Bruce Jenkins held up well through the final corner in D grade to avoid a possible crash.

Five riders came into the corner in a tight group with Mottram making a charge from the back. Into the corner a bit too quick and her pedal hit the road and the back of the bike jumped sideways into Jenkins’ area.

Jenkins took evasive action as Mottram held the bike up and straightened up to the finish. Jenkins hit the kerb and slid along but still upright and burning rubber off the front tyre sidewall.

As this was going on Jo Chalain and John Cullity were sprinting side by side for the line with Chalain taking the win by half a length. Greg Showell finished third.

A small A grade field lined up due to others from this grade having other out of town race commitments on the day.

Josh Henry was back for his second race with Nowra Velo and his first attempt at the short circuit criterium racing. Henry was strong and when he gets accustomed to the fast cornering required he will challenge this field.

Levi Johns and big brother Nick made a gap at half distance with Henry chasing with Jade Colligan and then chasing solo until he made contact with the two leaders in the last lap.

Levi scooted away to take another win from Nick with Josh Henry third over the line.

Next Sunday’s Nowra Velo Club event will feature to final round of the 2017 Optus series. This event will be run as a 42 kilometre handicap on the Braidwood Road short course, starting at 8.30am with the Bomaderry Vet Hospital/coffeeliscious team the duty officials.

Hanlon Windows goes into this final round as the leading team with Access Storage and BaiMed Physio close and primed for the challenge.    


Discuss "Young rider takes win in only third bike race"

Please note: All comments made or shown here are bound by the Online Discussion Terms & Conditions.