Mackay rewarded with World Cup selection

Alex Mackay

Alex Mackay

HOCKEY Australia has announced the men's Indoor Hockey World Cup squad that will form the core group of players as Australia look ahead to the Indoor Hockey World Cup in February 2018.

The recent Open men’s Indoor Australian Championships at the Festival of Indoor Hockey in Wollongong has provided experienced and up-and-coming players the opportunity to prove their abilities against the best in Australia.

The squad includes Shoalhaven’s Alex Mackay, Olympic medalists Glenn Turner, Kieran Govers and Tim Deavin and 2016 Rio Olympian Blake Govers.

"There is an exceptional level of experience in the squad with numerous players representing Australia at Olympic level,” head coach Steve Willer said.

“There are also eight players who have competed at the Indoor Hockey World Cup, including Tim Deavin, Kieran Govers, Flynn Ogilvie, Heath Ogilvie, Kurt Ogilvie, Tom Sinclair, Matthew Hotchkis and Ben Rennie.

“We have chosen a squad that we believe has the athleticism, attitude, team orientation and positional flexibility to achieve optimal team balance and the best possible results for Australia at the 2018 Indoor Hockey World Cup and beyond”.

The squad will come together in Canberra mid-year (June/July) to begin training with a three-day selection camp, where the squad will eventually be trimmed to 12.

2018 men's Indoor Hockey World Cup squad B. Bruton, A. Campbell, B. Clarke, T. Deavin, M. Ellis, B. Govers, K. Govers, J. Hayes, M. Hotchkis, J. Knee, A. Mackay, T. Madden, W. McIlwan, Z. Meadan, L. Noblett, F. Ogilvie, H. Olgivie, K. Ogilvie, D. Parkes, B. Rennie, T. Rossiter, A. Seccull, B. Seccull, J. Sherren, T. Sinclair, B. Staines, T. Sutherland, J. Taylor and G.Turner.