Young Bulls primed for success at CRL Country Championships

BOTH the under 14s and under 15s Group Seven representative teams are aiming for glory at this weekend’s Southern Zone CRL Country Championships at Dubbo’s Apex Park.

READY TO RIP IN: The Group Seven under 14s representative team will head to Dubbo this weekend for the CRL Country Championships.

READY TO RIP IN: The Group Seven under 14s representative team will head to Dubbo this weekend for the CRL Country Championships.

The under 14s side, coached by Nathaniel Morrison, will open their weekend with a match against Victoria at 9am Saturday.

“Our group has come together really well, as the majority of the squad have played with or against each other most of their careers,” Morrison said.

“We have strengths all across the park – we’re not a big side but they’re mobile and love doing the little things that no one else wants to do.”

If they win their opening match, they will battle Canberra at 1pm Saturday – with a match against Illawarra or Group 9/Group 20 awaiting the victor on Sunday.

The under 15s, who are coached by Luke Langford and have an identical draw to their younger counterparts, are looking to build on their second place finish at last year’s tournament.

“We have a core group of about 10 players from last year and have tried to build on that team’s success,” Langford said.

“Our first game against Victoria will be very tough but knowing the grit and the way this team defends, I know we are capable of big things in Dubbo.

“All the boys are just keen to get out there and prove what we are capable of.”

The winning sides, at the both the Northern and Southern Zone carnivals, will take part in the CRL Country Championship finals, at Central Charlestown on Saturday, September 22.

Morrison’s under 14s side features Berry-Shoalhaven Heads’ Brodie Arkinstall-Brazenall and Ayden Curll, Gerringong’s Wes Pring, Taj Ford, Kane Graham, Liam Holland, Noah Morphett, Dylan Egan, Callam Roberts, Bailey Sassall, Hamish Stewart and Ashton Ward, Culburra’s Dylan Burns and Sam Colgate, Stingrays’ Cody Giminez, Noah Guyatt and Hayden Wilson, Milton-Ulladulla’s Blake Halls and Darcy Wooden and Albion Park-Oak Flats’ Harrison High.

While Langford’s under 15s side contains Stingrays’ Jarvis Austin, Jack Bostock, Kyron Ebbs-Windisch, Nat Marland, Matthew Nelse, Toby Peters, Jayden Russoniello, Coleby Smith and Kane Stage, St Georges Basin’s Thomas Birnie, Kyle Sackley and Jonah Longbottom, Gerringong’s Jaxon Clarke and Kalum White, Milton-Ulladulla’s Sam Fitzpatrick and Jye Hendrie, Warilla-Lake South’s Keith Gatt, Berry-Shoalhaven Heads’ Jack McKechnie and Joseph Nelson and Culburra’s Kaleb Stewart.