Mikey Wright given wildcard spot for ​Tahiti Pro

Culburra Beach's Mikey Wright. Photo: WSL/Ed Sloane
Culburra Beach's Mikey Wright. Photo: WSL/Ed Sloane

CULBURRA Beach’s Mikey Wright will look continue his breakout 2018 season, after being awarded another wildcard – this time for the Tahiti Pro at Teahupo’o.

Mikey Wright, who currently sit ninth in the world rankings, his brother Owen and the rest of the top surfers in the planet have converged upon the South Pacific Islands of French Polynesia for stop number seven on the World Surf League Championship Tour.

Culburra Beach Boardrider Mikey Wright was offered a wildcard spot, after 11-time world champion Kelly Slater withdrew from the competition due to a foot injury.

Slater originally sustained the foot injury in South Africa last season but has been struggling to rehabilitate himself to compete among the world’s elite once again.

As such, Mikey will take on Brazil’s Adriano de Souz and countrymen  Matt Wilkinson in round one, while his brother Owen will battle Adrian Buchanan (Australia) and Jesse Mendes (Brazil).

First call of the event is on Friday at 7am (local time).

Tahiti Pro round one match ups:

Heat one: Wade Carmichael (AUS), Jeremy Flores (FRA), Joan Duru (FRA)

Heat two: Jordy Smith (ZAF), Ezekiel Lau (HAW), Ian Gouveia (BRA)

Heat three: Italo Ferreira (BRA), Sebastian Zietz (HAW), Miguel Pupo (BRA)

Heat four: Gabriel Medina (BRA), Tomas Hermes (BRA), Wiggolly Dantas (BRA)

Heat five: Julian Wilson (AUS), Joel Parkinson (AUS), Mateia Hiquily (PYF)

Heat six: Filipe Toledo (BRA), Tago Dora (BRA), Tikanui Smith (PYF)

Heat seven: Willian Cardoso (BRA), Frederico Morais (PRT), Michael February (ZAF)

Heat eight: Michel Bourez (PYF), Kanoa Igarashi (JPN), Keanu Asing (HAW)

Heat nine: Mikey Wright (AUS), Adriano de Souza (BRA), Matt Wilkinson (AUS)

Heat 10: Griffin Colapinto (USA), Kolohe Andino (USA), Patrick Gudauskas (USA)

Heat 11: Owen Wright (AUS), Adrian Buchan (AUS), Jesse Mendes (BRA)

Heat 12: Conner Coffin (USA), Michael Rodrigues (BRA), Connor O’Leary (AUS)


Discuss "Mikey Wright given wildcard spot for ​Tahiti Pro"

Please note: All comments made or shown here are bound by the Online Discussion Terms & Conditions.