Stars of the future shine in representative colours

SUNDAY’S cluster knockout carnival, at the Berry Sporting Complex, marked the first time ever Group Seven has fielded an under 16s girls league tag representative team.

With coach Aaron Lucas at the helm, Group Seven won all three matches on the day, firstly defeating Illawarra, before edging out both Group 16 and Group Six.

Lucas’ side contained Milton-Ulladulla Red’s Macenzi Gallagher and Keele Brown and Milton-Ulladulla Blue’s Jordyn Afflick and Lily Rogan will be joined in the squad by Stingrays of Shellharbour White’s Teagan Berry, Olivia Berry, Madi Singleton, Riley Scott and Piper Lucas, Stingrays Green’s Macey Lee and Mia Barton, Stingrays Gold’s Alexa Capocchiano and Lily Eggleton, Bomaderry’s Jessica Ward and Jordan Preston, Kiama’s Paige Forland, Albion Park-Oak Flats’ Madison Mikanovic and Berry’s Hannah Stone.

The day also saw Group Seven’s under 13s side battle teams from Illawarra, Group Six and Group 16.

This squad, coached by Steve Timms featured Sussex’s Jack Auckland, Berry-Shoalhaven Heads’ Dylan Adams, Stingrays’ Daniel Brady, Jai Brisbane, Rory Brownlee, Dextar Grant and Jasper Scobie, Gerringong’s Hayden Buchanan, Caleb Hall, Cooper Harrison, Tommy Knox, Oliver McCarthy, Seth Pearman, Tyrell Taione, Jarrod Tiyce and Lachlan Weir, Albion Park-Oak Flats’ Mitchell Hartley and Ashton O’Dea, Bomaderry’s Matthew McAteer and Milton-Ulladulla’s Jake Thelander.