Nowra athletes take on wet weekend

WET WEEKEND: Runners took advantage of the clearing clouds to get a run in before the rain started again.
WET WEEKEND: Runners took advantage of the clearing clouds to get a run in before the rain started again.

Round 10 of Nowra Athletics’ cross country competition point score round was held at Willandra on Saturday, June 9.

Runners took advantage of the clearing clouds to get a run in before the rain started again.

In the 1km race Everlyn Jennings and Josie Sproule both scored 50 points for the win in a time of 6.47 minutes. Next home was Miller Bell then Heidi McLaren, Aiden McLaren and Winter Bell.

In the 2km Division 1 was taken out by Harry Thomson. Second was Emily McLaren and third was Elijah Jennings. In Division 2 William Anderson was the winner with Noah Dyball second and Dylan Cox third.

Alastair Urquhart took out the 3km in 15.20 minutes. Next home was Katie Leung and third was Bridget Fairs. Meanwhile Division 2 was claimed by Caitlyn Fairs in front of Lucy Duncan and Jasper Leung.

In the Medium course, back marker Cam Musgrove came through for the win in 15.17 minutes. Second was quiet achiever Ella Dyball and third was Owen Cox, clocking 15.27 minutes, once again just marginally slower than Cam Musgrove. Some very close racing is shaping up between these two competitors.

Annette Sampson was the first female runner home in 23.32 minutes, but it was Olivia Sivills who was the fastest female finishing in seventh place in 17.57 minutes. Jade Mustapic was close on her heels in eighth place in 18.17 minutes.

Division 2 had five contenders with Gavin Dyball taking the win, followed by Paul Jennings, Angela Urquhart, Raz Morgan and Rae Thomson.

In Division 3 it was Gavin Urquhart who crossed the line first with Alex Arnold second and Levi Wallis third.

Girl power took out the middle placings with Megan Fitt fourth followed by Di Court then Tennilee Wallis and Eva Moeller –Duhme.

It was great to see hardworking committee member and volunteer John Price on the course this week, taking a break from his ‘official’ duties and crossing in eighth place.

Long course was won by Perry Strand this week in a time of 49.15 minutes, clearly benefitting from his hiatus last week. Darrin Smith ran in second and Rob Pickard was third.

Brad Sawyers ran in fourth clocking 41.47 minutes in the fastest time on the day. President Scott Johnson finished sixth in another great time of 43.44 minutes. Michelle Delaney was the first female home in 49.56 minutes while Elisha Bell was the fastest female athlete home in 46.19 minutes. It was great to see Patrick Ozlins back again at local competition testing himself on the hills of Willandra.

Division 2 of long course was won by Angela Bond with Cath Head in second place and Ming Leung in third. Milton Cox was next home followed by David Hughes to round out the division.

Next week competition travels to West Dapto for the second match of the McCaffrey Challenge. The location is Darkes Road, Brownsville. Please note racing starts at 2pm.

  • 1 and 2km at 2pm
  • 3km at 2.30pm
  • 4 and 8km at 3pm

Wear club colours if you can and bring your enthusiasm to race against Kembla Joggers on their home turf.