Shoalhaven products named in ACT/NSW Country squads

Ulladulla United's Tara Rudd. Photo: DAMIAN McGILL
Ulladulla United's Tara Rudd. Photo: DAMIAN McGILL

TWO of the Shoalhaven’s top junior female cricketers have been rewarded for their strong play by being named in their respective ACT/NSW Country squads for the upcoming national championships.

Bomaderry’s Chantelle Downey has been named in the under 18s ACT/NSW Country squad, while Ulladulla United’s Tara Rudd is in the under 15s squad.

Downey will be joined in the squad by Abbey Taylor, Anika Learoyd, Allison McGrath, Alisha Bates, Anita Handono, Emma Hughes, Gabbie Sutcliffe, Grave Dignam, Hannah Green, Hannah Faux, Isabella Greig, Jessica Davidson, Kayla Burton, Keisha Dowsett, Lara Graham, Monica Gair, Molly Kohl, Phoebe Litchfield, Rachel Trenaman, Sarah Young and Zoe Fleming – with Janet King and Katrina McEwan as camp invitees.

While Rudd’s team mates include Amy Kruzberger, Clare Levings, Claire McGuirk, Clare Webber, Deni Baker, Eliza Heinecke, Emelia Kavangh, Georgia Martin, Holly Simmons, Isabella Cameron, Jade Allen, Jessie Mudaliar, Josephine Pearce, Katie Letcher, Lily Savelli, Maddie McGuigan, Mikaylah John, Miriam Barbara and Zoe Delimihalis.

The under 18 championships have been moved for the 2018/19 season from November-December to January 14-26, to be held in the regional Victorian towns of Bendigo and Ballarat.

The 50-over component will be held in Ballarat, while the 20-over component is staged at Bendigo.

Likewise, the under 15 competition will be held during March, as opposed to last season when the tournament was staged in January.

ACT/NSW Country will have the home ground advantage as the ACT plays host to the event.

Cricket NSW female talent manager of high performance Steve Jenkin, said that both squads will hold centralised training camps during the upcoming off-season before each team departs for their respective National Championships.

“ACT/NSW Country teams will be selected at the completion of the Country Championships to be held in Raymond Terrace during the second week of the October school holidays,” Jenkin said.