Navy Shark 02 Memorial Awards announced

Among a host of ceremonial activities at last week’s retirements of the Squirrel and Seahawk helicopters, a number of special awards were also presented.

Lieutenant Natasha Stewart was presented with the Commander Australian Fleet Bronze commendation.

Lieutenant  Commander Chris Clyde was presented with the Commodore Partington Shield for Excellence in support of Naval Aviation.

Lieutenant Commander Tony Reyne was presented with the Gold Discharge Medallion.

Awards commemorating Sea King Shark 02 crew were also announced.

Lieutenant Damien Jensen was awarded the Lieutenant Matthew Goodall Award for Best Performance on the AvWO Rotary Wing Course.

Leading Seaman Brett Hansen was awarded the Leading Seaman Scott Bennet Award for Best Performance in Aircrewman Rotary Wing Course.

Lieutenant William Gladding was awarded the Lieutenant Paul Kimlin Award for Best Performance on an operational flying course.

Sub Lieutenant Drew Cambridge was awarded the Lieutenant Jonathan King Award for Best Performance on the Pilot Rotary Wing Course.

The Shark 02 awards recognise excellence in achievement in four aircrew categories, in commemoration of the lives of four crew members who lost their lives in Sea King Shark 02.

The four aircrew were killed on April 2, 2005 while conducting relief operations on the island of Nias, off Sumatra, following the 2004 Boxing Day tsunami and following earthquakes.

Sea King Shark 02 was operating from HMAS Kanimbla in Operation Sumatra Assist and Operation Sumatra Assist II.


Discuss "Navy awards its best and brightest​"

Please note: All comments made or shown here are bound by the Online Discussion Terms & Conditions.