Youngster breaks Nowra Athletics Club record

Last week saw Siwa Harvey-Aziz set a new record in the 16-17 years discus. Siwa threw the 1.5kg discus 50.39 metres. Considering the old 1kg record from 1985 (which Siwa has since broken also) was 41.06m this was a huge achievement. Well done Siwa!

The closet thrower on the night was Blake Hartnett with a throw of 28.85m followed by veteran athlete Doug McNally who threw 28.80m.

It was great to see Mel Mustapic in the discus circle along with members of Siwa’s family also having a turn.

In the junior division the best male throw came from Reilly Caswell with a distance of 23.11m followed by Will Dyball on 19.64m and then Hamish McLaren on 17.42m.

Meanwhile Talea Miller took out the biggest distance in the female group with 16.34m just in front of Jessie Moffat on 16m.

In the shot put Siwa Harvey-Aziz was again the biggest thrower with 11.12m. Sam Taylor recorded 10.39m and Blake Hartnett 9.91m.

In the senior female group Tori Sayer did well with a throw of 8.51m and Kerrie Jones achieved 6.77m.

Paul Musgrove may not have been jumping with joy when he cleared the high jump bar at 1.45m but he did jump higher than Jordan deVries who cleared 1.40m and Sarah deVries on 1.30m.

In the long jump pit it was the juniors who competed for the longest jump. Mathew Higham staked his claim on this title with 4.16m. Reilly Caswell jumped 3.92m and Toby Dyball 3.74m.

Hannah Brian soared to 3.95m in the girls event with Jessie Moffat, Alisha Mustapic, Talea Miller and Laila Hartnett all jumping well too.

On the track the senior 800m was taken out by Brad Sawyers followed by Scott Martin. Both declared the race “was not fun” – the result of pushing each other along for a fast time.

Dennis and Erin Smart took our third and fourth spot respectively.

In the 2km event the front runners reversed the finishing order with Scott Martin taking the win in front of Brad Sawyers. Dennis Smart took third place once again followed by Elisha Bell in fourth.

The junior 800m saw 18 eager competitors test their ability over two laps with a close sprint finish between Reilly Caswell (who was the eventual winner) and Will Dyball. Third and fourth was another very close finish with Toby Dyball just edging out Harrison Baxter.

The junior 2km saw another deserving win go to Reilly Caswell with Harrison Baxter second and Will Dyball third.

In the sprints the fastest junior times came from Matthew Higham, Reily Calwell,  Lachlan Woods and Will Dyball in the boys events. In the girls races it was Jessie Moffat, Akala Miller, Alisha Mustaic and Talea Miller who were the quickest.

The spirit and enthusiasm from Miller and Winter Bell, Evie and Tom Smart, Dean Osgood and Malachy Martin was certainly worth cheering. Maybe the lollies at the end of the race is just the reward they need!

In the senior sprints female athletes Hannah Brian, Erin Smart, Taylor Moffat and Sarah deVries all ran well. In the male division Sam Taylor recorded the fastest time over 60m with 7.48 seconds followed by Paul Musgrove with 8.62 seconds.

Athletes are reminded that NSW Country Championships are not far away. They will be held in Wollongong over the Australia Day weekend so make sure you put this date in your diary. We'd love to see as many Nowra athletes there as possible.