Group 7 stars shine at Koori Knockout

Yuri Monaro United. Photo: RUBEN CAMPBELL
Yuri Monaro United. Photo: RUBEN CAMPBELL

A LARGE number of the top rugby league talent from Group 7 was on show at this year’s 47th instalment of the NSW Koori Knockout at Leichhardt Oval – held on the October long weekend. 

Nowra-Bomaderry Jets’ Tyson Simpson, Zac Blattner, Ryan James and Issac Mumberson, Milton-Ulladulla’s Arthur Scott and Berry-Shoalhaven Heads’ Kieran Blattner all represented Yuri Monaro United.

Former Group 16 and Group 7 junior representative coach Richard Bradbury believed the competition was a great stepping stone for young and emerging talent.

“There are a lot of players in this team that have a bright future and this weekend is a great way to nurture these talented young players through,” Bradbury said. 

“They get to play against former and current NRL players so it’s very good exposure”

The Koori Knockout was established in 1971 as is regarded as the biggest gathering of indigenous people in the world.

The competition is played over three days which includes 145 teams across five different competitions.

Jason Gillard who had a brilliant 2017 campaign for the Holden Cup -nder 20s St George Illawarra Dragons side felt honoured to be a part of the competition.

 “It means the world to me the play on such a special weekend” Gillard said.

“I’ve been coming here since I was 15 and every year you get to reconnect with people you haven’t seen in such a long time”

The Yuri Monaro region covers from Queanbeyan to Eden as the team also featured many players from the Group 16 competition. 

Richard Bradbury in his debut year of coaching Yuri Monaro was honoured to share the experience alongside a great playing group.

 “There were such great bunch guys to share this experience with” Bradbury said.

“We got a lot tremendous support from the region and we’re hoping that we can field two men’s teams and a women’s team next year.”


Open men's competition grand final: Newcastle Yowies 22 defeated Griffith Three Way United 4

Open women's competition grand final:  Redfern All Blacks 12 defeated Dunghutti Kinda 8 

Under 17s competition winner: Illawarra Titans

Under 15s competition winner: Newcastle Yowies 

Under 12s competition winner: La Perouse United 

Yuri Monaro United squad:  1. Jason Gillard 2. Dennis Green 3. Calin Brierly 4. Kieran Rough 5.Jermain Connelly 6. Tyson Simpson 7. Zac Blattner 8. Arthur Scott 9. Ray Smith 10. Meryyne Brown 11. Ryan James 12. Harly Grundy 13.Coalter Stewart 14. Issac Mumberson 15. Joecoby Simpson 16.Gerald Brown 17. Koorin Campbell 18. Chaise Sincers 19. Yuin Campbell 20 Ninnum Parsons 21. Nathan Brown 22. Lenny Dann 23. Gary Braddick 24. James Nye 


Discuss "Group 7 stars shine at Koori Knockout"

Please note: All comments made or shown here are bound by the Online Discussion Terms & Conditions.