Naomi Woods named in Country side

Naomi Woods. Photo: DAMIAN McGILL

Naomi Woods. Photo: DAMIAN McGILL

WEST Cambewarra’s Naomi Woods has been named in the ACT/NSW Country under 18s cricket side to compete at the under 18 National Championship in Canberra from November 27 – December 7.

The team, along with the NSW under 15 and 18 Metro teams and under 15 ACT/NSW Country team, were selected following a rigorous selection trials and the McDonald’s under 15 and 18 women’s Country Championships, which took place in Raymond Terrace recently.

The under 18 championships saw North Coast walk away with their fifth straight title win after beating Illawarra in a last ball cliff-hanger.

Matilida Lugg, who has been selected to the ACT/NSW Under 18 Country team, was named player of the final.

The under 15 competition also saw North Coast triumph, after defeating Central North by 23 runs.

Newly contracted Lendlease Breakers Rachel Trenamen, Tahlia Wilson and Saskia Horley have also been selected for the Under 18 teams – a clear indication of the strength and depth of talent in the women’s underage competition in ACT/NSW. 

ACT/ NSW Country under 18: Rachel Trenaman(captain), Kaitlyn Beaumont, Mackenzie Carr, Ellie Dalgarno-Fixter, Anita Handono, Emma Hughes, Claire Lennon, Matilda Lugg, Claire Murray, Lily Tassell, Abby Taylor, Tahlia Wilson, Naomi Woods – reserves: Alisha Bates, Nell Gibson, Taylah Knight, Alison McGrath and Sarah Young.

NSW under 18 Metro: Saskia Horley (captain), Isabella Afaras, Kate Barry, Maddy Darke, Ashley Day, Hannah Darlington, Stella Campbell, Dharmini Chauhan, Maddie Penna, Yardley Polsen, Olivia Porter, Prue Roebuck, Jordann Johnson – reserves: Angelia Genford, Kristen McCormack, Sarah Turner and Hayley Silver- Holmes.

ACT/ NSW under 15 Country: Grace Dignam, (captain), Deni Baker, Julia Bassett, Kayla Burton, Jessica Davidson, Hannah Faux, Hannah Green, Isabella Greig, Phoebe Litchfield, Maddison Mcguigan, Grace Parsons, Sophie Shelley, Clare Webber – reserves: Isabella Cameron, Clare Levings, Claire McGuirk and Holly Simmons.

NSW under 15 Metro: Hayley Silver- Holmes (captain), Jade Allen,Ahiya Chandel, Hayley Elliott, Jade Errington, Angelina Genford, Molly Godsell, Emily Lawler, Shivani Mehta, Claire Moore, Kate Peterson, Zoya Thakur, Sophie Vaughan – reserves: Lily Dummitt, Annabell Hutt and Sarah Hunter.

The under 15 teams will travel to Adelaide for their National Championships in January 2018.


Discuss "Woods named in Country side"

Please note: All comments made or shown here are bound by the Online Discussion Terms & Conditions.