Matthew Gilkes selected in NSW under 19 State Challenge squad

Matthew Gilkes
Matthew Gilkes

ULLADULLA’S Matthew Gilkes has been rewarded for his continued hard work by being named in one of the four NSW under 19 State Challenge squads.

The talented wicket-keeper/batsmen, who attends Ulladulla High School, has been selected alongside fellow South Coast athlete Tom Engelbrecht in the NSW Country Thunder team.

The under 19 State Challenge brings together the most talented young cricketers in NSW/ACT for a three-day tournament at Raby Oval, Campbelltown – which sees two NSW Metropolitan and two ACT/NSW Country sides compete against one another under the banner of the two Sydney BBL sides, the Sydney Thunder and Sydney Sixers. 

At the end of the three 50 over games at Raby Oval, NSW will field two teams (NSW Metropolitan and ACT/NSW Country) at the under 19s National Championships, which will travel to Hobart and Launceston from December 4-14.

“It’s a great opportunity for every player to stake their claims for both the ACT/NSW country and the NSW Metropolitan sides which are selected to play in the National Championships in Hobart and Launceston,” Cricket NSW Pathway coach Beau Casson said.

The 2017 under 19 State Challenge gets underway on October 3 at Raby Oval, Campbelltown, with games to played October 3-5.

NSW Country Thunder: Tom Engelbrecht (C), Matt Gilkes, Lachlan Barnsley, Tane Nunn, Daniel Leerdam, Raman Phoonie, Ryan Meppem, Marty Jeffery, Ryan O'Beirne, Iain Carlisle, Hamish Starr, Pat Montgomery and Flynn Parker.

NSW Country Sixers: Jason Sangha (C), Blake Nikitaras, Jordie Misic, Charlie Dummer, Jack Harris, Ryan Peacock, Coby Cornish, Tom Scoble, Avery Weilandt, Jason Ralston, Sam Skelly, Andrew Somerville and Luke Powell.

NSW Metropolitan Thunder: Jack Edwards, Anthony Adlam, Ryan McElduff, James Arnold, Thomas Sowden, Baxter Holt, Lawrence Neil-Smith, Chad Sammut, Jack James, Lachlan Beattie, Ryan Clark, Dayne Heward, Michael Kennedy, 

NSW Metropolitan Sixers: Ryan Hackney, Aiden Bariol, Raveesh Srivastava, Austin Waugh, Joel Foster, Nathan Baker, Antum Naqvi, Wallace Marshall, George Furrer, Riley Allington, Zac Hersov, Trent Weir and Eknoor Sing.


Discuss "Gilkes selected in NSW State Challenge squad"

Please note: All comments made or shown here are bound by the Online Discussion Terms & Conditions.