Pararoos open world champs campaign

The Pararoos. Photo: FFA
The Pararoos. Photo: FFA

THE Pararoos, which include Callala Bay’s Ben Atkins and Tapitallee’s Zachary Jones, have opened their International Federation of Cerebral Palsy Football World Championships (IFCPF) in San Luis, Argentina with a loss.

The 16th ranked in the world Pararoos, coached by Kai Lammert, lost their Group D opener on Monday, September 11 (local time) to sixth ranked United States 6-nil at Stadium Juan Gilberto Funes.

The team will now quickly regroup ahead of their clash with world number one Ukraine on Wednesday, September 13 before their final group match against 13th ranked Northern Ireland, which will be played on Friday, September 15.

The Pararoos 14-player squad for the IFCPF: Christopher Barty, Benjamin Roche, Jack Williams, Nicholad Prescott, Raymond Ellery, Christopher Pyne, David Barber, Matthew Hearne, Ben Atkins, Benjamin Sutton, James Turner, Christina Tsangas, Cosimo Cirillo and Zachary Jones.


Discuss "Pararoos open world champs campaign | Video"

Please note: All comments made or shown here are bound by the Online Discussion Terms & Conditions.