Ruan Sims named in Jillaroos train-on squad

Ruan Sims trains with her NSW team. Photo:
Ruan Sims trains with her NSW team. Photo:

GERRINGONG product Ruan Sims has been named in Jillaroos coach Brad Donald's 40-woman train-on squad for the Women's Rugby League World Cup.

The train-on squad includes women from New South Wales and Queensland, together with women from the Affiliated States teams and a member of the Australian Defence Force team.

With the Interstate Challenge out of the way, Donald said the Jillaroos squad would unite once more and prepare for the World Cup with a series of training camps ahead of their first pool match in October.

"It's been an amazing year for our sport, with the Jillaroos claiming a clean sweep against the Kiwis for the first time as part of the Auckland Nines and another win against them as part of the double-header Test Match in Canberra," Donald said.

"Whilst the wins have certainly added belief within our team, it is the consistent training throughout the year that has impressed me the most and it has shown in every performance this year.

"Our extended Jillaroos team is fitter, stronger and faster than ever before and we’re excited at what’s to come over the next few months.

"Every member of the train-on squad has earnt the right to be named and there will be plenty of competition for positions as part of the final World Cup team."

The Jillaroos train-on squad will kick off World Cup preparations with a camp next month.

The pool matches and semi-finals will be played at Southern Cross Group Stadium in Sydney from November 16-26, with the men’s and women’s finals played as a double-header at Suncorp Stadium in Brisbane on December 2.

Jillaroos train-on squad for 2017 Women’s Rugby League World Cup

New South Wales: Sam Bremner, Kezie Apps, Ruan Sims, Ruby Ewe, Allana Ferguson, Rebecca Riley, Isabelle Kelly, Simaima Taufa, Caitlin Moran, Rebecca Young, Maddie Studdon, Elianna Walton, Corban McGregor, Vanessa Foliaki, Nakia Davis-Welsh, Jessica Sergis, Talesha Quinn, Lavina O’Mealey and Simone Smith.

Queensland: Amelia Kuk, Zahara Temara, Kody House, Chelsea Baker, Annette Brander, Ali Brigginshaw, Jenni-Sue Hoepper, Sasha Mahuika, Asipau Mafi, Chelsea Lenarduzzi, Heather Ballinger, Brittany Breayley, Steph Hancock, Renae Kunst, Karina Brown and Sarah Walker.

Affiliated states: Oneata Schwalger (Victoria), Meg Ward (Northern Territory), Maddison Bennett (Western Australia) and Asiova (Eva) Karpini (South Australia).

Australian Defence Force: Lucy Lockart (Northern Territory).


Discuss "Sims named in Jillaroos train-on squad"

Please note: All comments made or shown here are bound by the Online Discussion Terms & Conditions.