Maddo returns to the crease

Nic Maddinson. Photo: GETTY IMAGES

Nic Maddinson. Photo: GETTY IMAGES

NSW has made two changes to the Futures League squad that will travel to Perth to face Western Australia in the four day match starting on Monday, February 20.

Nowra’s Nic Maddinson has been named to make his return to cricket after a short break from the game, and NSW quick Josh Lalor will play his first Futures League game since November.

The pair replace Josh Clarke and Daniel Sams in the NSW squad.

Blues’ paceman Gurinder Sandhu is looking forward to the match, and is hopeful the Lilac Hill pitch will provide favourable conditions for his bowling.

“I didn’t start the season as well as I would have liked,” said Sandhu.

“I’ve been improving every game and hopefully I can continue on that path.

“In these Futures League games players need to let the bat or ball do the talking and put your name in front of selectors, so if someone becomes unavailable in that Shield squad then you are ready to step in and do the job for NSW.”

Sandhu believes another strong Futures League squad highlights the competition to break into the first XI.

“The depth here in NSW is always very, very good,” said

“You just have to look at our second XI team and then our Shield team – there are some very good players in both teams.

“Some players may feel they are unlucky to be missing that Shield cricket but they just have to put numbers on the board and be consistent.”

Sandhu was also happy to see long-time NSW teammate Nic Maddinson making his return to the middle.

“It’s great to have him on our side, that’s for sure,” said Sandhu.

“He is a batsman who can take the game away from the opposition.

“It’s been great to see him back training with the Blues and back around cricket.

“I think if he’s back that means he’s enjoying cricket, which is the main thing because it is a sport that is meant to be fun and to be enjoyed.

Blues Futures League squad:

Ben Rohrer (captain)

Nick Bertus

Ryan Carters

Daniel Fallins

Ryan Gibson

Liam Hatcher

Josh Lalor

Jay Lenton

Nic Maddinson

Arjun Nair

Gurinder Sandhu

Charlie Stobo