Culburra cap off first year with premiership



AN impressive defensive performance from the Culburra Dolphins has led them to win their first premiership, as they defeated the Albion Park Outlaws 18-2 in the Group 7 third grade grand final at Collegian Sporting Complex on Sunday.

In a hard hitting game of rugby league, the Dolphins toughed it out in wet conditions.

Both sides found it hard to maintain possession and opted for penalty conversions when offered.

Dean Watling slotted three penalty goals and converted Rocco Battagiolo’s four pointer from close range.

Outlaws’ Chris Daniel also landed a penalty goal and at half-time Culburra led the Outlaws 10-2.

The second half did become fiery, as referee Nick McInerney sin-binned Jesse Rose from the Outlaws and Lyndon Booth from the Culburra.

The Dolphins sealed victory as Roger Burton posted a converted try as he pounced on an Outlaws’ mistake right in front of sticks.

At full-time Culburra ran out winners 18-2.

Dean Watling was given the man-of-the-match award for his excellent goal kicking and hard work in the back.

Tim O’ Connell and Josh Power Farrell also had big games.

For the Outlaws, Pala Falekakala, Chris Daniel and Harley were the minor-premiers’ best.

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide