Badger wins seventh title

FINALISTS: Winner David Badger with Ray Hannett who was runner-up in the major singles.

FINALISTS: Winner David Badger with Ray Hannett who was runner-up in the major singles.

CURRARONG Bowling Club's major singles event was completed last week with the top bowlers fighting it out for the title.

Bob Wood and Ray Hannett were in the first semi final with both bowlers not giving an inch until mid-way through the game when Ray began to get on top of Bob.

Ray’s accuracy when it was needed gave him a spot in the final with a 31-17 shot win.

In the second semi-final, Gary Donovan was up against last year's winner, David Badger and Gary surprised David with a great start to lead 9-2 before David found his weight and grass to lead 16-10 at the half way mark.

David continued with that form to win the game 31-15 and advance to his ninth straight singles final.

The final was played in extremely windy conditions on the fast and full length bottom green.

Ray was recently named the 2014 grade five pennant player of the year and was certainly the form bowler going into the final.

David however was the defending champion and singles is his favourite game, so the final was a highly anticipated event for those watching.

Apart from the first few ends when Ray led 6-2, David was in control for most of the game and handled the windy conditions better than Ray.

David ran out an easy 31-12 shot winner to grab his seventh straight singles title at Currarong.

On the weekend the state president’s reserve singles event for bowlers graded 5-7 began on Saturday with Currarong entering seven bowlers.

There were a few casualties with the wind and fast greens not helping Joe Mejlak, Nick Fowler, Bob Lindsay and Dennis Richardson who all lost their first round games.

Bob Wood won his game and on Sunday Bob, Bill Buhagiar and David Badger won their second and third round games to advance to the semi finals which will played at Currarong this Sunday at 9am.

Tuesday’s social bowlers saw Norm Delaney, Ray Coid and Allen Meikle win the day with the largest winning margin.

Jock Cooper, Dennis Richardson and Allen Sigsworth were runners-up.

On Saturday the winners, chosen from the hat were Ted Liehr, Colin Watters (Shoalhaven Heads visitor) and Peter Child.

Runners-up were Jamie Wayside, John Marr and Allen Sigsworth.

Jackpots on Tuesday and Saturday were won and they both revert back to $50 this week.

Friday’s pool competition final saw a tough game played with Judy and Porky finally winning from Linda and Trout.

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide