Nilsen, Oliver and Griffiths take out comp as White celebrates 45 years in it

THE grand finals of the Shoalhaven Tuesday Ladies Tennis Competition were played at Narang Road Bomaderry Courts on Tuesday, December 3. 

Division one team winners were Renate Nilsen, Crysanth Oliver and Susan Griffiths, winning four sets to one, with two sets decided by a tie-breaker, against the team of Phyllis Cane, Kaye Hilaire and Jean Benny. 

Division two team winners were Leonie Lloyd, Nancy Broderick and Kerrie Preston, winning four sets to nil, against the team of Kay Burman, Debbie Jarrett and Una White.

Trophies were then presented during the annual Christmas lunch to the winning teams. 

Awards were also made to the overall points winner in each division with Renate Nilsen taking out the division one prize while the division two prize went to Una White. 

It was a special day for Una as she also received the Top Point Scorer for the Year Trophy and remarkably, on Tuesday, December 3, 2013 clocked up her 45th year of playing midweek ladies competition with the Shoalhaven Tennis Association.  

A special presentation was made to Una to mark this significant achievement.  Two other awards were presented, the first to Pauline Owen Eales for Club Person of the Year and the second to Sherry Wearne, who received the Encouragement Award for Sportsmanship.

Midweek Ladies Competition for 2014 starts with grading days on Tuesday, January 28 and Tuesday, February 4 at 9.30am at Narang Road Courts, Bomaderry. 

All new players are most welcome. 

Summer competition begins on Tuesday, February 11.    

For more information contact Midweek Ladies Competition secretary Susan Lenne on 44464157.

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide